Chat or Talk in the INReview Discussion Forum Chat or Talk in the INReview Discussion Forum
 
register chat members links refer search home
INReview INReview > The Scuttlebutt Lounge > Computers & Internet > Technical Support > Adding stuff to my computer
Search this Thread:
  Print Version | Email Page | Bookmark | Subscribe to Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread   
Gold Member
flying panda
HPFanaticINR

offline
Registered: Sep 2004
Local time: 02:00 AM
Location: Hogwarts, naturally
Posts: 5188

Adding stuff to my computer post #1  quote:



I just tried to add an extra CD/DVD drive and an extra Hard drive ... the orgional hard drive is in the "master" "plug" of the "strip type thing" and the other was on the "slave" one. I turned it on, all the plugs were in right, but the computer didnt get passed its first screen where a load of information is. I unplugged the "older" hardrive (it was from an older computer) and it worked. At the same time as i first added the extra hard drive i added the DVD rom and that works ... is that ment to come up in "My computer" (both of them) ...

Ive been told it could be the power problem, i need more power to support the extra stuff


Old Post 08-21-2005 08:29 PM
Click here to Send flying panda a Private Message View flying panda's Journal Find more posts by flying panda Add flying panda to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore flying panda REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Staff
Sierradaddy
Days of Future Past...

offline
Registered: May 2003
Local time: 08:00 PM
Location: Somewhere in Time...
Posts: 3901

post #2  quote:

First thing I'd suggest is checking to make sure that both the drives are jumpered properly. On the back of them, they should both be set according to their roles. The Master drive should have its jumper set to "Master", and the slave drive should be set to "Slave". The newer drives have another option that allows the PC to detect which drive is master and which is slave, by how they're connected on the IDE cable (is that right, adityamahesh?). I think that setting is "CM", but I don't remember positively...

If the "Master" and "Slave" jumpers are already set, you may need to hop on into your BIOS screen during system startup, and check some settings in there. I wouldn't recommend it if you're rather new to the whole thing. If you change the wrong setting in there, it might take awhile for you to figure out how to get it back to normal.


Old Post 08-22-2005 11:34 PM
Click here to Send Sierradaddy a Private Message Find more posts by Sierradaddy Add Sierradaddy to your buddy list Sierradaddy's MSN ID is smoothline98@hotmail.com Reply w/Quote

adityamahesh
Definitively Illumined

offline
Registered: Oct 2003
Local time: 07:00 PM
Location:
Posts: 15266

post #3  quote:

My name... is BILLY! *smashes Sierradaddy into train station ceiling.*

I hate hardware, so this is more like Larke's area, but I think you are right.

M.


Old Post 08-22-2005 11:46 PM
Click here to Send adityamahesh a Private Message Find more posts by adityamahesh Add adityamahesh to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore adityamahesh REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Gold Member
flying panda
HPFanaticINR

offline
Registered: Sep 2004
Local time: 02:00 AM
Location: Hogwarts, naturally
Posts: 5188

post #4  quote:

OK thanks for the advice misters daddio and M

You know how i might go about changing a HD from slave to master and vice verse?


Old Post 08-22-2005 11:53 PM
Click here to Send flying panda a Private Message View flying panda's Journal Find more posts by flying panda Add flying panda to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore flying panda REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote
Time: 02:00 AM Post New Thread   
  Print Version | Email Page | Bookmark | Subscribe to Thread
INReview INReview > The Scuttlebutt Lounge > Computers & Internet > Technical Support > Adding stuff to my computer
Search this Thread:
Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
Forum Policies Explained
 
Rate This Thread:

< >

Copyright ?2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited
Page generated in 0.03236294 seconds (80.39% PHP - 19.61% MySQL) with 36 queries.

ADS

© 2018, INReview.com.   Popular Forums  All Forums   Web Hosting by Psyphire.
INReview.com: Back to Home