Chat or Talk in the INReview Discussion Forum Chat or Talk in the INReview Discussion Forum
 
register chat members links refer search home
INReview INReview > Feedback > Forum News & Announcements > Upgrades
Search this Thread:
  Print Version | Email Page | Bookmark | Subscribe to Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread   
esskay
Rookie

offline
Registered: Jan 2003
Local time: 08:35 AM
Location:
Posts: 4293

Upgrades post #1  quote:



If it seems like things have been a bit faster around here lately even with 200+ concurrent users moving around on the site then that's because you're right: it IS faster

To complement our recent bandwidth upgrades, we'd decided to upgrade the CPU & memory on the machine, but while that helped, traffic to the site increased by the same amount. So we went full bore and upgraded again to a 1.7Ghz processor, brand spankin new motherboard and doubled the RAM to half a gig. Now we can scarcely keep the CPU busy which is great! We're looking to once again soon here step up the bandwidth yet further and this place will be eye-popping

But we didn't just stop there. We've also upgraded and tuned several key peices of software that are used to deliver this website to bring them to their maximum potential, AND we have continued to give much attention to the coding and HTML that makes up the site to ensure that it is as fast, dependable, and efficient as possible.

And it's all in the name of making sure that InReview remains a great, fun experience for everyone.

Regards,
- Sean


Old Post 03-27-2003 10:22 PM
Find more posts by esskay Add esskay to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore esskay REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

[7]
Veteran

offline
Registered: May 2003
Local time: 08:35 AM
Location: Inside the Matrix
Posts: 475

post #2  quote:

just something thats been on my mind for a while... how can you guys afford the bandwith? Is the revenue coming from advertisements really enough to cover the costs?

Old Post 06-13-2003 09:56 PM
Click here to Send [7] a Private Message Find more posts by [7] Add [7] to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore [7] REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Anomaly77
Mastermind

offline
Registered: Feb 2004
Local time: 11:35 AM
Location: NY/USA
Posts: 589

post #3  quote:

To upgrade... it states that you must use the email adress that you used when you signed up. I think I used my netscape account originally but, changed it becasue netscape seemed to be having issues. Is there any way around this? I really prefer to use the yahoo account...or is this just a verification process?

Thank you.


Old Post 03-24-2004 03:40 AM
Click here to Send Anomaly77 a Private Message Find more posts by Anomaly77 Add Anomaly77 to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Anomaly77 REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Staff
Marc Flemming
Renovator

offline
Registered: Jan 2003
Local time: 08:35 AM
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3663

post #4  quote:

quote:
Anomaly77 said this in post #3 :
To upgrade... it states that you must use the email adress that you used when you signed up. I think I used my netscape account originally but, changed it becasue netscape seemed to be having issues. Is there any way around this? I really prefer to use the yahoo account...or is this just a verification process?


That's exactly right - we want it only for verification.


Old Post 03-24-2004 03:51 AM
Click here to Send Marc Flemming a Private Message View Marc Flemming's Journal Visit Marc Flemming's homepage! Find more posts by Marc Flemming Add Marc Flemming to your buddy list Reply w/Quote

Staff
Marc Flemming
Renovator

offline
Registered: Jan 2003
Local time: 08:35 AM
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3663

post #5  quote:

On another note - and in harmony with Sean's original post in this thread, I feel like mentioning another upgrade we put into effect a few months back.

The server was upgraded to a Dual XEON 2.8ghz with 1GB of RAM utilzing the latest releases (at that time) for Apache/PHP/mySQL and then thoroughly optimized for performance.

The machine could likely work efficiently with a couple thousand users on concurrently (we've had close to 650 on at once).

That said - another upgrade is in order: bandwidth. The cost associated with that, however, is rather expensive and not likely just yet.


Old Post 03-24-2004 03:57 AM
Click here to Send Marc Flemming a Private Message View Marc Flemming's Journal Visit Marc Flemming's homepage! Find more posts by Marc Flemming Add Marc Flemming to your buddy list Reply w/Quote
Time: 04:35 PM Post New Thread   
  Print Version | Email Page | Bookmark | Subscribe to Thread
INReview INReview > Feedback > Forum News & Announcements > Upgrades
Search this Thread:
Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
Forum Policies Explained
 
Rate This Thread:

< >

Copyright ?2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited
Page generated in 0.03530407 seconds (81.38% PHP - 18.62% MySQL) with 37 queries.

ADS

© 2018, INReview.com.   Popular Forums  All Forums   Web Hosting by Psyphire.
INReview.com: Back to Home