Chat or Talk in the INReview Discussion Forum Chat or Talk in the INReview Discussion Forum
 
register chat members links refer search home
INReview INReview > The Scuttlebutt Lounge > Computers & Internet > Technical Support > All Things Requiring Technical Support Go In This Forum
Search this Thread:
  Print Version | Email Page | Bookmark | Subscribe to Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread   
Staff
Marc Flemming
Renovator

offline
Registered: Jan 2003
Local time: 12:05 PM
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 3663

Exclamation All Things Requiring Technical Support Go In This Forum post #1  quote:



Whether it be electronics or your computer, feel free to post your questions or provide answers.

As we've all heard before: The only dumb question is one that goes unasked.

Forum Monitor: Advance


Last edited by Advance on 06-05-2004 at 05:34 PM |
Old Post 06-25-2003 09:44 PM
Click here to Send Marc Flemming a Private Message View Marc Flemming's Journal Visit Marc Flemming's homepage! Find more posts by Marc Flemming Add Marc Flemming to your buddy list Reply w/Quote

Jut
Qualified Rookie

offline
Registered: Jun 2004
Local time: 03:05 PM
Location: USA
Posts: 14

post #2  quote:

ok I have a question...I want to buy a new case for a computer but I dont want to buy all new parts such as a new proccessor and all...so can I use the parts from a pretty new Dell to fill the case?

Old Post 06-20-2004 10:03 PM
Click here to Send Jut a Private Message Find more posts by Jut Add Jut to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Jut REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Gold Member
Dreamzwalker
Agent

offline
Registered: Feb 2003
Local time: 02:05 PM
Location: Out there Somewhere
Posts: 2428

post #3  quote:

you would have to make sure the the board is supported.
the motherboard.
its probably an ATA board but you would want to ask Dell.
there's Baby-at, AT, ata etc.
Baby-at is older but i would call dell and ask what size and kind of motherboard it is then you should be able to purchase a case to meet that size without a problem


Old Post 06-20-2004 10:07 PM
Click here to Send Dreamzwalker a Private Message View Dreamzwalker's Journal Find more posts by Dreamzwalker Add Dreamzwalker to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Dreamzwalker REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Jut
Qualified Rookie

offline
Registered: Jun 2004
Local time: 03:05 PM
Location: USA
Posts: 14

post #4  quote:

ok thanx for the help

Old Post 06-20-2004 10:52 PM
Click here to Send Jut a Private Message Find more posts by Jut Add Jut to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Jut REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Jut
Qualified Rookie

offline
Registered: Jun 2004
Local time: 03:05 PM
Location: USA
Posts: 14

post #5  quote:

Now I am looking to buy a new proccessor and a new mother board. Will the componets from the Dell work with these new parts in the new case?

Old Post 06-20-2004 10:54 PM
Click here to Send Jut a Private Message Find more posts by Jut Add Jut to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Jut REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Gold Member
Dreamzwalker
Agent

offline
Registered: Feb 2003
Local time: 02:05 PM
Location: Out there Somewhere
Posts: 2428

post #6  quote:

no problem.

Old Post 06-20-2004 10:55 PM
Click here to Send Dreamzwalker a Private Message View Dreamzwalker's Journal Find more posts by Dreamzwalker Add Dreamzwalker to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Dreamzwalker REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Jut
Qualified Rookie

offline
Registered: Jun 2004
Local time: 03:05 PM
Location: USA
Posts: 14

post #7  quote:

I am buying a new P4 proccessor and a new motherboard. Can I run the older Dell componets off the new proccessor and motherboard?

Old Post 06-20-2004 11:49 PM
Click here to Send Jut a Private Message Find more posts by Jut Add Jut to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Jut REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Gold Member
Dreamzwalker
Agent

offline
Registered: Feb 2003
Local time: 02:05 PM
Location: Out there Somewhere
Posts: 2428

post #8  quote:

You may be able too - but that depends on the connection - and if the new motherboard has the same connection (which it probably does)
i have a compaq that i ripped pieces out of and put in a different computer.

Warning: most oem machines havea "tatooed" motherboard. meaning that the restore cds will NOT work on a motherboard NOT tatooed.


Old Post 06-21-2004 03:54 PM
Click here to Send Dreamzwalker a Private Message View Dreamzwalker's Journal Find more posts by Dreamzwalker Add Dreamzwalker to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Dreamzwalker REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Jut
Qualified Rookie

offline
Registered: Jun 2004
Local time: 03:05 PM
Location: USA
Posts: 14

I need help! post #9  quote:

I bought a new proccessor and a new motherboard to speed up a year old Dell. But now I also want to buy a new case for my computer. Can I use the older parts from my Dell and use them in the new case and also can I run the older parts off of the new proccessor and motherboard?

Old Post 06-21-2004 08:47 PM
Click here to Send Jut a Private Message Find more posts by Jut Add Jut to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Jut REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Jut
Qualified Rookie

offline
Registered: Jun 2004
Local time: 03:05 PM
Location: USA
Posts: 14

post #10  quote:

Do you think I can take apart an old computer and put a new one rogether with out any traing or anything?

Old Post 06-21-2004 09:00 PM
Click here to Send Jut a Private Message Find more posts by Jut Add Jut to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Jut REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Jut
Qualified Rookie

offline
Registered: Jun 2004
Local time: 03:05 PM
Location: USA
Posts: 14

post #11  quote:

ok thanx for all your help

Old Post 06-21-2004 09:10 PM
Click here to Send Jut a Private Message Find more posts by Jut Add Jut to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Jut REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Jut
Qualified Rookie

offline
Registered: Jun 2004
Local time: 03:05 PM
Location: USA
Posts: 14

post #12  quote:

ok

Old Post 06-21-2004 10:12 PM
Click here to Send Jut a Private Message Find more posts by Jut Add Jut to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Jut REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Jut
Qualified Rookie

offline
Registered: Jun 2004
Local time: 03:05 PM
Location: USA
Posts: 14

post #13  quote:

ok

Old Post 06-22-2004 08:31 PM
Click here to Send Jut a Private Message Find more posts by Jut Add Jut to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Jut REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Jut
Qualified Rookie

offline
Registered: Jun 2004
Local time: 03:05 PM
Location: USA
Posts: 14

post #14  quote:

k

Old Post 06-26-2004 11:42 PM
Click here to Send Jut a Private Message Find more posts by Jut Add Jut to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Jut REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Jut
Qualified Rookie

offline
Registered: Jun 2004
Local time: 03:05 PM
Location: USA
Posts: 14

post #15  quote:

o

Old Post 07-06-2004 07:44 PM
Click here to Send Jut a Private Message Find more posts by Jut Add Jut to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Jut REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Larke2000
INReview Maven

offline
Registered: May 2003
Local time: 03:05 PM
Location:
Posts: 3859

post #16  quote:

i think that the first "ok thanks for all your help" was just fine.

the next "ok", "ok", "k", and "o" weren't really needed.


Old Post 07-07-2004 06:19 AM
Click here to Send Larke2000 a Private Message Find more posts by Larke2000 Add Larke2000 to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Larke2000 REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Mr. F
U.S. soccer fan

offline
Registered: Feb 2004
Local time: 12:05 PM
Location: San Diego, California, USA
Posts: 898

post #17  quote:

I just finished playing ''Call of duty united offensive'' so I deleted it and installed ''Splinter cell'' . When I try to play it all it does is show the splinter cell logo. Tried repairing splinter cell. Deleted and re-installed splinter cell, same results. The thought occurred to me that it was the game, so i loaded Medal of honor (played it many times) same results.
With the program running cpu usage is 99% idle process, 0%MOH.
What gives?


Old Post 02-06-2005 01:49 AM
Click here to Send Mr. F a Private Message Find more posts by Mr. F Add Mr. F to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore Mr. F REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

adityamahesh
Definitively Illumined

offline
Registered: Oct 2003
Local time: 01:05 PM
Location:
Posts: 15266

post #18  quote:

Mr. F, delete the registry entries for your games. Maybe that will help.

M.


Old Post 02-06-2005 05:11 AM
Click here to Send adityamahesh a Private Message Find more posts by adityamahesh Add adityamahesh to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore adityamahesh REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote

Gold Member
illuminate
Amazon Princess

offline
Registered: Jan 2004
Local time: 12:05 PM
Location: My Own Little World...
Posts: 1602

post #19  quote:

I tried turning on my Laptop yesterday and got a black screen, it shows the DOS logon then a message reading:
Windows cannot start up because the Windows/system/config/system32 file is corrupted or missing. I read online that someone else had this problem and it continued even AFTER wiping everything out and reinstalling the OS.

Any suggestions? Is this a a virus or am i dooooooooooooooomed?


Old Post 09-13-2005 09:45 PM
Click here to Send illuminate a Private Message Find more posts by illuminate Add illuminate to your buddy list Click Here to Ignore illuminate REPORT this Post to a ModeratorNOMINATE this Post for Reward Points Reply w/Quote
Time: 08:05 PM Post New Thread   
  Print Version | Email Page | Bookmark | Subscribe to Thread
INReview INReview > The Scuttlebutt Lounge > Computers & Internet > Technical Support > All Things Requiring Technical Support Go In This Forum
Search this Thread:
Forum Rules:
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is OFF
vB code is ON
Smilies are ON
[IMG] code is ON
Forum Policies Explained
 
Rate This Thread:

< >

Copyright ?2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited
Page generated in 0.05331707 seconds (86.85% PHP - 13.15% MySQL) with 39 queries.

ADS

© 2018, INReview.com.   Popular Forums  All Forums   Web Hosting by Psyphire.
INReview.com: Back to Home